Controversial No-Goal Call Preserves Jones Shutout
If you haven’t made a prediction for this year’s Vezina Trophy winner yet, it would be a good idea to go with Martin Jones of the San Jose Sharks.
Jones recorded his second consecutive shutout on Tuesday night by stopping 31 shots against the Capitals at Verizon Center in Washington. The Caps were facing adversity heading into the game because Alexander Ovechkin and Nicklas Backstrom were both missing from the lineup. In the second period, they faced some more.
Trailing 3-0 in the game, the Caps thought they had pulled closer by a goal when Dmitry Orlov blasted home a shot from the hash marks. The play was originally called a goal, but Sharks’ Head Coach Peter DeBoer took a gamble by using his one-and-only coach’s challenge – and won.
The crowd was stunned that it was called back, but referee Tim Peel explained that he reversed the call because he felt that Jay Beagle interfered with Jones enough that it caused him to be unable to “do his job” properly.
Here at InGoal we are notably biased towards the goaltender, but this seems like a bit much. If a player makes contact with a goaltender’s hands, it should definitely be called back, but it doesn’t look like Beagle actually makes any contact with Jones at any point. Sure, he was in the crease, but goalies are used to battling with players for a sight line.
With the new “coach’s challenge” rules in place, most people figured that it would put an end to debates like this. Apparently not.
More goals are likely to be disallowed than allowed because of the rule changes, but what do you think? Was this the right call, or is it a bit overboard?
With the shutout, Jones not only has two shutouts with the Sharks in three games, but he did something that hasn’t been achieved since 1939:
#SJSharks Martin Jones is the 2nd fastest goalie in NHL history to earn his 9th career shutout (37 GP) BOS Frank Brimsek 28 GP in 1938-39.
— Sportsnet Stats (@SNstats) October 14, 2015
It’s a shame that the record will be tainted for some by this controversial call, but it didn’t end up factoring into the game – the Sharks won 5-0.