Select Page

Selanne Shootout Goal vs Turco- Legal?

Selanne Beats Turco with Creative Change of Speed – but can you stop?

I love the creativity here, but I have to ask – was it legal? I thought that you had to continue advancing the puck…comments anyone?

NHL Rule 30 states: “The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete.”

So, was it kept in motion towards the goal line, or did it stop?

Turco agrees it’s worth questioning thanks @dbhowell via Twitter

About The Author

David Hutchison

David is one of the founders of InGoal Magazine which he began in 2009. Of course he finds time for some goaltending of his own as well, and despite his age, clings desperately to the idea that some NHL team will call him to play for them - though in his mid-forties (OK, late 40s) it'll likely be for a practice when everyone else on their depth chart has the flu and the shooter tutor has gone in for repairs.

2 Comments

  1. Heather Galindo

    Hmm. I’m not sure I agree with Turco’s save selection there. I’m okay with Selanne’s move (which is saying a lot given my lack of affection for anything Ducks-related). Just a speed change and a little fake there. Turco bit.

  2. Justin

    The puck is clearly still moving forward (although only slightly) when Selanne slams on the breaks. It’s a good goal.